Thursday, July 17, 2014

Title: Between the Spark and the Burn
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke
Series: Between, book #2
Publisher: Dial
Publication Date: August 14, 2014
Source: ARC received from author
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Add to Goodreads
The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.

But then, the Devil once told me that it's easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.

The problem with River West Redding was that he'd done both to me.

The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet's life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River's other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn't long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .


Prepare yourselves, friends, because Between the Spark and the Burn is no less of a wild ride than the previous book. And if I hadn't double-checked a thousand times, I wouldn't believe this was the conclusion to the duology. I'd have been completely satisfied with this book, if I knew another was on the way. But as it is, I'm left with even more questions and an undeniable desire for more of these characters' story.

I have to believe the author planned it that way, to leave her readers with a burning need for more. It almost seems like a cruel trick, though...like she's got a bit of River in her, too. Some will probably think that where she takes the romance is a trick indeed. But it felt right to me. At the end of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, I think Violet, River, and Neely were all connected by their shared experiences. And Violet was still questioning whether what she felt for River was real or just an effect of the glow. So, I don't think it was altogether unrealistic for her and Neely to find comfort and solace in each other while on the road in search of River and Brodie. I liked them together, even more than I liked Violet and River as a pairing, and that's all I'm going to say about that.

Between the Spark and the Burn is a road trip book of sorts. Violet and Neely set off in search of River or Brodie or whoever is causing the ruckus that they've been hearing about on Wide-Eyed Theo's Stranger Than Fiction radio show at 2am. Along the way, they meet some crazies and make some new friends and hear even stranger stories that lead them on wild goose chase after wild goose chase. But one of their leads pans out and that's when things get really weird.

I thought the fact that we were no longer in Echo would be off-putting, but each new destination, each new group of zealots left me awestruck. It's nearly unfathomable how gorgeously and morosely Tucholke describes each new locale. Her gothic settings become characters themselves, and I want to get to know them better.

All the characters I loved -- or loved to hate -- are back in this sequel, plus a few new friends. The prose is still as visceral and haunting as ever, maybe even more so. And the creepy has reached new levels, especially when all is revealed. It all culminates into what is probably the perfect sequel to Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. And yet. And yet...I still want more. I'm hoping Tucholke is a lying liar like River and writes another book in this series. But I can see why she wouldn't. The saying is, "always leave them wanting more," is it not? I know I'll be picking up whatever the author decides to write next.

Check out my Review in a GIFfy for Between the Spark and the Burn, too!

GIF it to me straight:




Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Between, #1)Between the Spark and the Burn (Between, #2)

About the author:

April Genevieve Tucholke is a full-time writer who digs classic movies, redheaded villains, big kitchens, and discussing murder at the dinner table. She and her husband—a librarian, former rare-book dealer, and journalist—live in Oregon. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea is her first novel.

Find April:

WebsiteGoodreads | Twitter




17 comments:

  1. I need this book in my life so bad! :D Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, you do, especially if you loved BtDatDBS as much as I did. :)

      Delete
  2. Woot for books that end awesomely!! I'm not sure how I feel about duologies...Reboot had me startled being a duology and not a trilogy. But I guess they're different and unique right?! I just always ache for the 3rd book. Haha! I haven't read book #1 of this yet, but it's on my Goodreads wish-list. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, I really like the trend toward duologies. Less wait time for the conclusion. Less filler. Less money. :)

      Delete
  3. I haven't read the first book yet but I've been interested since the first one came out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, this is a great series, very dark and gothic. It's not for everyone, but the writing is gorgeous!

      Delete
  4. Ahhhh, I never got around to reading the first book even though it was high on my list. I just kind of forgot about it. I still want to read both though. And I loooove these covers!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. What? How could you forget about these beautiful books? Those covers are beyond awesome. But what's between them is just as good. :)

      Delete
  5. OMG, this book. I don't think I've ever felt such a roller coaster of emotions with a book the way I did with this one. EVER. I loved it and I hated it at times. I was shocked (THE MOMENT), creeped out, caught up, angry, melancholy. Just all the feelings. I couldn't even write a review when I was done. I was pissed. And as time went on, I realized that April Genevieve Tucholke is an evil genius. I want to rant at her and hug her all at once. SO yeah, I pretty much love this review and I need the next book, like, yesterday. <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Total evil genius, right? I hope she decides to continue this series, even though it's only supposed to be a duology. :( It took me awhile to review this, too, because of all the feels, but it helped that I got some of that out with GIFs. :P

      Delete
  6. I'm totally not surprised by your rating and love for this book. I still have to read book 1. These covers are SO gorgeous!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So gorgeous! I wasn't surprised by how much I loved this book either. :P

      Delete
  7. I really enjoyed book 1, but I'll be skipping this one :(. I'm glad you thought the triangle worked, though my tolerance for them is nonexistent now. I'm also worried about an ending that leaves so many questions. But I'm so happy this one worked for you. She really is a great writer. I love the way she builds atmosphere. Thanks for the helpful review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, I know. :( It didn't feel like a triangle so much as a growing apart and up, but I know how you feel about triangles, period, these days. It's unfortunate, though, because the writing really is gorgeous.

      Delete


  8. http://khairyayman.eklablog.com/http-emc-mee-com-transfer-furniture-almadina-almonawara-html-a126376958 شركة نقل عفش بالمدينة المنورة
    http://khairyayman.eklablog.com/http-emc-mee-com-transfer-furniture-jeddah-html-a126377054 شركة نقل عفش بجدة
    http://khairyayman.eklablog.com/http-emc-mee-com-movers-in-riyadh-company-html-a126376966 شركة نقل عفش بالرياض
    http://khairyayman.eklablog.com/http-www-east-eldmam-com-a126377148 شركة نقل عفش بالدمام
    https://forums.ipa.edu.sa/vb4/member.php?202-%D9%85%D8%AD%D9%85%D8%AF-%D8%AE%D9%8A%D8%B1%D9%8A
    https://community.ebay.com/t5/Shipping-Returns/%D8%B4%D8%B1%D9%83%D8%A7%D8%AA-%D9%86%D9%82%D9%84-%D8%A7%D8%AB%D8%A7%D8%AB-%D8%A8%D8%A7%D9%84%D8%B1%D9%8A%D8%A7%D8%B6-%D8%A7%D9%84%D9%85%D8%AA%D8%AD%D8%AF%D8%A9/qaq-p/26773546#M143585

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...