Friday, March 28, 2014

Title: Uninvited
Author: Sophie Jordan
Narrator(s):  Rebecca Gibel
Series: Uninvited, book #1
Length:  9 hrs 54 mins
Publisher: Harper Audio
Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Source: from publisher for review via Edelweiss/audio from library
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Audible

Add to Goodreads
The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

I'm just gonna say it...this book totally reminded me of Article 5, only slightly better written. I really should have known better because I'm all but over the dystopian trend, but the hype surrounding this book gave me pause. I own all of Jordan's Firelight series, but I've yet to read it. And my curiosity being what it is, I requested Uninvited for review and then promptly forgot about it. Then the audio became available at my library, so I decided to go that route.

The audio was probably the book's saving grace, at least for me. I think I might have DNF'd it otherwise. Even if the narrator did make Davy sound whiny and rather pathetic. It made sense, though, because Davy's inner monologue and actions make her seem whiny and pathetic. She was such a disappointing protagonist: weak, in constant need of saving, and all around annoying. I enjoyed Rebecca Gibel's narration of the Splintered series, but there was nothing she could do to make me find Davy likable.

Okay, okay...I sort of understand how Davy could turn out to be such a miserable heroine: she's just had her whole world turned upside down because she tested positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, which means there's a likelihood that she'll one day become a killer. Her friends have abandoned her. Her boyfriend dumped her. Her parents are afraid of her. And now she's been taken from them to some type of government training facility to turn her into a weapon.

So, yeah, her dreams of Julliard are gone. Her status as a musical prodigy means next to nothing. But on the bright side, the dreamy but dangerous Sean O'Roarke is there with her. He keeps Davy at a distance for as long as he can, but it's obvious she's incapable of keeping herself out of trouble. In the short time since she tested positive, she's been sexually harassed by a teacher, become the target of a bully, and managed to piss off the cruelest of the other HTS kids at the training camp. Davy is not the girl I'd pick for Sean, but some guys just love a damsel in distress.

Like I mentioned earlier, besides the annoying protagonist, the premise also reminded me a lot of Article 5, in which the government can determine one's morality and punish accordingly. In Uninvited, Davy's basically "uninvited" from all aspects of normal life because of the "kill gene" present in her DNA. I suppose both of these worlds are plausible, but I feel like the DNA testing is a more probable reality, especially if it were determined that this type of behavior really could be explained away by a genetic predisposition toward it. However, it did seem as if the public at large in this story was a little too easily accepting of the forced testing, that they were all too ready to write those people off who tested positive. I expect the second book in this duology will focus more on the rebellion against the testing and treatment of people with HTS.

I know this review sounds incredibly negative, but I didn't hate Uninvited. I actually found it riveting at times and the fast pace and action sequences compelled me to keep listening. And I liked that the author didn't shy away from violence in her novel, that she made the fear in this world palpable. However, a little less focus on the romance and a stronger main character would have made this book so much better for me. I'll likely pick up the second book, but I'll probably play a drinking game while I read it, taking a shot for every time Sean has to save Davy's ass. Should be fun, plus it might serve the dual purpose of helping me find Davy slightly less annoying.

GIF it to me straight:
We'll see how the next one goes before ultimate judgment.

About the author:

Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's also the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Avon historical romances. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet Cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows. Sophie also writes paranormal romances under the name Sharie Kohler.

Find Sophie:

WebsiteTwitter | Facebook | Goodreads


  1. I'm interested in this one but at the same time hesitant. I did love Article 5 so comparing it to it actually makes me excited. lol But I worry about some of the things you didn't like too.

    1. Yeah, I know a lot who've loved this one *and* Article 5, but I just think this type of story isn't for me. Hope you do enjoy it if you decide to give it a try!

  2. I tried to get into this one, but only made it about 20% or so. I could tell that Sean and her were going to get together, of course, but didn't actually make it that far. I may give this a try again sometime, but it just wasn't clicking with me and I feel like I'm drowning in books that I actually do want to read. Great review!

  3. Eh, that's disappointing. I've only heard about Davy (though I love her name!) being whiny. Bleh. That ALWAYS turns me off. But I haven't read Article 5...soooo, I think I still want to try this. The cover I love! Those DNA strands twisting in her hair...awesome detail. ;)

  4. Totally agree with you about Davy! She's not really likable, and beside whiny, the fact that she's a prodigy being stated over and over is not helping -_-. I haven't read Article 5, though :D
    Great review, Jen!

    Neysa @ Papier Revue

  5. I really loved this book, sorry it was not the same for you. Sorry Davy was annoying for you!

  6. I read this book a while ago and I really loved it. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy it as much as I did, but then again I didn't listen the audiobook. Davy could be annoying, but strangely it didn't bother me much.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...