Saturday, August 29, 2015

The Weekend Update - 8.29.15

Saturday, August 29, 2015 with 11 comments
So, since my end-of-the-week post isn't just about what I got in my mailbox or on my Kindle each week -- though that is a big part of it, I won't lie -- I decided to change up the title and intro a bit.  I might tweak the format a bit over the next few weeks, but for the most part, it'll contain the same stuff: stuff I got, stuff I did, and stuff that's coming up on the blog.  Plus, I get to use the awesome GIF you see here and blow kisses to all the people who sent me lovely books and bookish things.  Oh, and I've started linking up to Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga's Reviews since I'm not using a specific meme title anymore.  April's also doing her own Stacking the Shelves posts on Sundays.  Stop by and say hi!  =)
This week was full of suck and I didn't really get to read very much -- though, I listened to quite a few audiobooks -- nor did I post nearly as much as I'd planned to. Which really sucks because I've actually been in a blogging mood lately. :( It's mostly work, but also house-hunting and a little bit of Katie being back in school. Basically, just this big conglomeration of things that culminated into a big, bad, sucky week. I'm glad it's over, but the whole of September looks to be pretty much the same, if this last week of August is any indication. o_O Hope the end to your summer is much better than mine!

Anyway, here's what I scored this week:

For Review:

Got these fab ARCs from Harper/EpicReads in the mail earlier this week, and then I logged into Edelweiss and saw the awesome Harper upload and couldn't resist. I. Am. So. Bad. :P

Burning GlassA Study in CharlotteThe Great HuntFlamecaster (Shattered Realms, #1)The Girl from EverywhereDreamologyReign of ShadowsAssassin's HeartThe Shadow Queen (Ravenspire, #1)Sword and Verse

Looks like I have a very exciting, fantasy-filled winter ahead of me!!!!!!! I don't even know where to start with all of this awesome!


The Hidden Prince (The Orphan Queen, #0.1)

My awesome #OTSPSecretSister apparently already knows how much I loved The Orphan Queen and how much I'm anticipating The Mirror King, so she (or maybe he?) sent me the first novella in the series! I've been trying to hold off reading it, but I don't think I can wait any more! =) It's my first time participating, but I love how this extra bit of cheer can just totally brighten your day...or week, as in my case. :)

For preordering Queen of Shadows, I got this set of buttons from the Throne of Glass series, including a bonus I ♥ Dorian button! Such a great promotion! I'd preorder more books if I got swag like this at the price I got QOS for at Amazon! :P


I received a finished copy of An Ember in the Ashes from the lovely Ashley (@Bookz4Nerdz) in trade. And it looks so pretty with the ARC on my shelf!

If you're interested in trading books with me, check out this post. =) I've still got tons available, though if my husband has his way, they'll be going to HPB this weekend! But I'll be adding some newer ARCs to my trade list soon!


Magonia (Magonia, #1)Extraordinary Means

Had both of these for review but never had time for them. Which works because the audiobooks were kind of great. :)


With #otspsecretsister in full force, I've had to be really good and institute a book-buying ban for myself. So far, it's going well. Though, I did pre-order quite a bit when all those books went on sale on Amazon -- and in order to get some of that awesome swag being offered. :D

Though, I'll be honest, that BookOutlet coupon this weekend was VERY tempting.

Oh, wait. I lied. I did buy the audiobook for another ARC I already had, but it's because the narrator is so effing fabulous and I'd rather her read this story to me:

Lair of Dreams (The Diviners, #2)

So, that's my haul. :) How about you? What did you get this week?

The Week in Review:


Just One Year (Just One Day, #2)

Current Giveaways:

First in Line tote

Firewalker Blog Tour & Giveaway

Promotional/Discussion Posts:  
  • Be #FirstInLine to read the last line: Random House just launched a new YA program giving readers early access to some of the newest books and greatest authors!
  • #WoW - The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman
  • Josephine Angeline talks about "redeemable villains" on my stop on the Firewalker Blog Tour + enter to win a finished copy of the book, which releases on September 1st!

Jen's Currently Reading/Listening To:

Of Beast and BeautyThe Weight of Feathers

I am totally loving this book, but I just haven't had much time to actually sit down and read lately. And when I have, I've fallen asleep minutes into it. :( I plan to finish The Weight of Feathers this weekend, though. It's absolutely lovely and perfect for fans of The Night Circus.

I finished three audiobooks this week and DNFed another and then I didn't know what to listen to. :( So, I checked out Audible and realized I had some new credits to use. Yay! And I'm in the mood for another retelling, so I picked this one. I really liked Princess of Thorns, so I'm sure this will be a treat.

Upcoming Reviews:

Looks like I'm behind on some reviews, lol...

Lion Heart (Scarlet, #3)The Invasion of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #2)The Anatomical Shape of a HeartThe Weight of FeathersWalk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1)

Follow on BloglovinLike honest reviews & giveaways?  Be sure to follow us on Bloglovin' so you never miss out!

Instagram Like pretty pictures of books and bookish things? Follow me on Instagram! I also host IG giveaways from time to time. :D


  1. I did really well on not downloading this week. I only got Flamecaster - though I may get a few more if positive reviews come rolling in.

    I read Underneath Everything last week and it was SO GOOD. First 5-star read (other than rereads) for months. I really hope you enjoy it too!

    Pretty Deadly Reviews

  2. I hope you have a good weekend and September.....

    Great haul. I just grabbed Flamecaster.

    Diane @ Dane's Book Blog

  3. Great haul! I can't wait to get my QoS buttons! I can't wait to read The Great Hunt, The Shadow Queen, Burning Glass, and The Girl from Everywhere. I hope you enjoy all your books!

    My STS

    Lizzie @ Big Books and Grande Lattes

  4. I'm so sorry your week sucked! If you ever need someone to complain to I'm here. I loooove all the Harper titles. I tried to limit myself by telling myself I could go back for seconds! I read Burning Glass already this week <3 Let me know when you read it!

  5. I so badly want to read An Ember in the Ashes! I should be getting my copy next week - can't wait. All your arcs look amazing too, specifically The Girl from Everywhere and A Study in Charlotte! :)

    Enjoy your new books! :)

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My STS Post!

  6. Harper has great books. Interested in Shadow Queen and Reign of Shadows! Into shadows lol. Enjoy! Happy reading!

    My Stack

  7. Awesome haul! ENJOY!

    Check out our WOW

    Check out our STS & enter to win a personalized copy of Queen of Shadows (open INT)!

  8. Awesome stack of books this week. Love those buttons. No one can resist when Harper Collins puts those new titles on Edelweiss. I hope you love all of your new books this week.

    Grace @ Books of Love

  9. Look at all the goodies! I hope you enjoy your newest additions and that the coming days are better than your sucky week!

  10. Ugh. Your books are so yum. Lol. Happy reading, Jen!

  11. Jealous of your ARC of A Madness so Discreet! Even though I do have the egalley of it. :-) And the Harper books on Edelweiss were so tempting! I, too, was bad. You can see how bad in my Sunday Post.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...