Wednesday, October 30, 2013

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's WoW selection is...

Title: Between the Spark and the Burn
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke
Series: Between, book #2
Publisher: Dial
Publication Date: August 14, 2014

Add to Goodreads
The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.
But then, the Devil once told me that it's easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.
The problem with River West Redding was that he'd done both to me.

The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet's life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River's other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn't long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .

I loved Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea when I read it a few months ago.  Such an atmospheric tale!  I'm actually quite pleased that this series will be wrapped up in two books, though I can't wait to see what else the author has in store for us.  Ack...and Neely!  What's that guy been hiding?!?

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Between, #1)Between the Spark and the Burn

Title: Meridian
Author: Josin L. McQuein
Series: Arclight, book #2
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: April 22, 2014

Add to Goodreads
Marina thought that she had solved all of the Arclight’s mysteries. She had found her own history—that she was one of the Fade, that she never should have been human. She knows that the Fade who surround the Arclight don’t want to be the humans' enemies at all. She knows that the leader of those inside the Arc, Honoria Whit, never told the whole truth. But there is so much more that Marina is just discovering. There are more survivors out there. Only Marina—and her friends, all of whom have connections to the Fade they'd never known about—can lead her people to them. But there are also darker dangers, things that even the Fade fear. And Marina slowly realizes she may never have been “cured,” after all. The sequel to Arclight, Meridian is an intense, action-packed page-turner about the lines we draw between right and wrong, light and dark . . . and the way nothing is ever that black and white.

Arclight was another debut this year that I absolutely loved, and then I devoured McQuein's subsequent thriller, Premeditated.  I've said it before, but this author has definitely earned a spot on my auto-buy author list.  I liked the ending of Arclight but I was definitely hoping for more from this world, so I was ecstatic to hear that a sequel was in the works.

Arclight (Arclight, #1)Meridian (Arclight, #2) and Premeditated

Now that you know what I'm dying to read, what are you waiting on this week?  Feel free to share it in the comments or leave a link so I can stop by!


  1. I'm yet to read Between the Devil and this is the first time I heard of Arclight. Definitely going to check it out soon.

    Chel @ The Procrastinator's Corner

  2. I don't know how long I've been waiting on Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea -- but now I haven't even had time to pick it up yet. Totally frustrating, especially now that I know there's already a sequel coming up! ARGH! Awesome picks! My WoW

  3. Awesome picks. I need to read the first books in each series :)

    My WoW

  4. Wow, those covers just may be as beautiful as the firsts! :) I have BtDatDBS on my shelf... I REALLY need to read it soon!! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I have Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea to read for xmas break and w/ all the awesome reviews I can't wait to check it out. I'm really liking all the duology sets.
    I haven't read any McQuein, but all her books sound so interesting. Awesome picks, thanks for sharing!

    Bookmunchies' WoW (:

  6. I love the title Between the spark and the burn! I'm kinda bummed that it's the last book but I can't wait to read it!!!

    Thanks for sharing <3

    Our WoW

    Doris @ Owl Always Be Reading

  7. YES. YES YES YES, I cannot wait for them both! I hadn't seen the cover for Spark & Burn yet either, and it's interesting to see how different the color palette is. Still pretty and eye-catching, though!

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

  8. Great picks!

    my WOW:

  9. Oh so excited for Meridian. I love the cover too, even better than Arclight.

  10. Cool picks! I havent´t read the first book of any of those series.

    Here is My WOW

  11. Oh, look at that cover for Between the Spark and Burn! So pretty. I love that the series is wrapping up in two books. Not everything needs three (or even two...). I haven't read Arclight, but I have Premeditated checked out from the library. I just need the time to read it. Great picks!
    Natflix&Books' WoW

  12. Ahh I haven't read either of these series yet, although I have heard such great things about them! But both series have such great covers.
    Rachel @ The NerdHerd Reads

  13. I can't wait for Between the Spark and the Burn either! I didn't know it would be only two books, but I like it. It worked really well for Kendare Blake's and Bethany Griffin's serieses.
    I have a problem with the cover though. The image is great, but the font & color for 'Spark' and 'Burn' just don't fit. If the writing stays the same though, I don't care ^^


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...