Wednesday, September 18, 2013

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's WoW selection is...

Title: The Winner's Curse
Author: Marie Rutkoski
Series: The Winner's Curse, book #1
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: March 4, 2014

Add to Goodreads
In the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Cassandra Clare comes this brilliant, unputdownable, star-crossed romance about the curse of winning.

Seventeen-year-old Kestrel is an aristocratic citizen of Valoria, a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers. Here, a girl like Kestrel has two choices: join the military or get married. Despite her skills in military strategy, Kestrel’s real passion is music.Which is why she feels compelled to buy Arin, a slave with a talent for singing, at auction. It’s not long before she finds herself falling in love with Arin, and he seems to feel the same for her. But Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for Arin is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a new world, The Winner’s Curse is a story of wicked rumors, dirty secrets, and games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

Not gonna lie...I still haven't read The Shadow Society, though I have a signed copy of it on my shelf, and I've read nothing else from this author. :( Still, that summary is going to have me biting my nails until March. The promise of a fantastic new world plus the buzz surrounding this book are enough to ensure this novel keeps a top spot on my to-read list, but that gorgeous cover has guaranteed I'll be adding a copy to my collection.

Now that you know what I'm dying to read, what are you waiting on this week?  Feel free to share it in the comments or leave a link so I can stop by!


  1. Great pick Jen! For some reason it sort of reminds me of The Carnival of Souls by Melissa Marr. I've added it to my TBR.

    My Waiting on Wednesday.

  2. Look great! I looove that cover too. (Covers are half the awesomeness of books. Okay, well, maybe one third? Still... ;)

    My WoW!

  3. I've never read any of the author's other books either. I am reading this one right now and it is really great! I stayed up too late last night reading. I can't wait until you get a copy so I can see your thoughts on it. The cover really is beautiful.

    My Friends Are Fiction's Waiting on Wednesday

  4. I have this on pre-order. Cannot wait to get my hands on this (plus it's a bonus the cover is A-MAZING!)

    My Waiting on Wednesday: N'15

    What She Reads
    tweet @whatgeorgiedid

  5. Oh, I love this cover! I haven't read anything by her either.

    My WoW

  6. I'm not sure this is a book I would pick up, but I LOVE that cover. Thanks for sharing, Jen!

  7. Am I the only one that thinks it is tacky to put unputdownable in a synopsis? I'm not sure this is something I'd read but that cover is definitely pretty!

    My WoW

  8. I really like this cover and the description sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing :)

    Happy Wednesday!

  9. Hmmm! This does sound really interesting, and it's the first I've heard of this book, so thanks for the heads up. Also, really loving the sideways typography on this cover. It makes my heart happy.

    Our WoW

  10. I can't wait for this one! Cover + synopsis = I need this NOW!

    Great pick!

  11. I have a signed copy of The Shadow Society sitting on my shelf, too. Also unread! I can't wait to read The Winner's Curse, so maybe we both need to read The Shadow Society to tide us over. :)

    Stephanie @ Inspiring Insomnia

  12. Ooooo, this sounds great!! And that cover is fantastic!! :)

  13. You had me at "Kristin Cashore" haha! Sounds awesome! I definitely need to add it to my to-read list.

    Here's my WoW

    -Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms

  14. I had this as my WoW a few weeks ago and I also can't wait! The cover is fantastic :) I read and loved The Shadow Society so I'm curious about what Rutkoski has in store for us next.
    Thanks for stopping by!

  15. JEN. Did you get the MacMillan email a few weeks back? If you didn't, I will lend you my copy of this. I don't have one yet, but I requested it and since that catalog email has started to pop in my inbox occasionally, I've not been refused physical ARCs... so yeah! Let me know because I'd love to lend you it. The Shadow Society is okay -- different than the usual PNR, but for some reason I can't see it being a favorite of yours. Maybe a 3.5 or 4 star read? Somewhere between 3-4 I think. I'm curious now to know whether that prediction would be true :D. BUT YES THE SUMMARY FOR WINNER'S CURSE. THE FIRST CHAPTER. (Did you read it? It's online at Tor. Win.). The buzz for this book. It's like Shadow and Bone buzz from MacMillan and I think we both liked S&B ;).


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...