Thursday, June 2, 2016

Man, I can't believe it's already June! The kids are out of school -- at least mine is, yay! -- and summer is off to a great start. You know what that means! SYNC recently announced the list of audiobook pairings up for grabs this summer, and today kicks off week five of the program for 2016. Here's what you can grab through Wednesday of next week...for free!

This week's YA title is Words in the Dust by Trent Reedy, performed by Ariana Delawari for Scholastic Audio.

Add to Goodreads
In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?

This week's classic/other title is The Boy Born Dead by David Ring & John Driver, performed by Paul Michael for christianaudio.

Add to Goodreads
In 1953, in Jonesboro, Arkansas, a baby boy was born--dead. The attending physician set his little body aside and tended to his mother for eighteen minutes. Now, more than sixty years later, that boy leads an internationally known ministry that encourages hundreds of thousands every year. The Boy Born Dead tells his incredible story from the perspective of his best friend, David Wideman.As a teenager in the small town of Liberty, Missouri, in the late 1960s, David Ring grew up with the challenges that come with cerebral palsy, a result of his eighteen minutes of newborn silence. Along with his physical limitations, Ring was orphaned and shuffled from home to home, finally landing in an abusive situation that made him feel unworthy of love and, eventually, unworthy of life. But God had a purpose for Ring's life, and sent an agent to help him achieve it. Through the friendship of David Wideman, a boy he met in the halls of Liberty High School, Ring found strength he didn't know he had and went on to face his demons, marry the love of his life, and start an international speaking ministry.Full of hope, this moving story illustrates how friendship and love triumph over adversity. Anyone who faces tough times will treasure this story of hope and courage.

I'm not sure either of these books is really for me, though I am definitely more intrigued by Words in the Dust, especially with Ariana Delawari narrating. (She also narrated Renee Ahdieh's gorgeous The Wrath and the Dawn duology.) Both sound like sad but also hopeful stories of overcoming the odds, but I have to be in the right mood for tougher reads like this.

Will you be picking up either of these titles? Remember, they're only available through Wednesday, and new titles will be put up on Thursday for download. To download this week's titles, just click here to be taken to the SYNC download page.

I hope you take advantage of this program. I've been doing it for the last several years, and I've had the opportunity to listen to a ton of great audio for free.  If you've never tried audiobooks before, it's a great opportunity to do so without the obligation of buying one that you might not enjoy.  And if you love audiobooks, well, it's a great time to stock up on some titles you may have missed or discover new ones.  Win/win.  =)

Happy listening!


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...